Peace History Society

Officers and Board
 PHS Conferences
Peace and Change
PHS News
Elise M. Boulding Prize

DeBenedetti Prize

Scott Bills Memorial Prize

Lifetime Award

Founders Award

  Other Resources on the Web
Announcements of Conferences, etc. of Interest to Peace Historians

PHS Photograph Archive

PHS History

PHS Bylaws


Berenice Carroll receives the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award (left to right Christy Snider, Virginia Williams, Clinton Fink, Berenice Carroll, and Robbie Lieberman)

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to a PHS member who has contributed outstanding scholarship and exemplary service to peace history.

Nominations for the 2015 award are due by June 1, 2015. Committee members are Christy Snider (chair and former PHS president), Ginger Williams (PHS Treasurer), and Robert Shaffer (Board Member). The Lifetime Achievement award winner will be officially announced at the 2015 PHS national conference, October 22-24, University of Saint Joseph, CT. Please fill out this form, addressing the nominee’s qualifications. Submit this form to Christy Snider ( by June 1, 2015.

The 2013 recipient was Berenice Carroll, Professor of Political Science Emerita, Purdue University.

The 2011 recipient was Lawrence Wittner, Professor of History Emeritus, University at Albany, State University of New York.

The 2009 recipient was Sandi Cooper, Professor of History at the College of Staten Island and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York.

Charles Chatfield
Charles Chatfield receives 2007 Lifetime Achievement Award from PHS president Scott Bennett

Charles Chatfield was the first recipient of the award in 2007. His comments on receiving award:

Blanche Wiesen Cook and Sandi Cooper offer comments on Charles Chatfield:
Questions or comments to the web editor.