Peace History Society

Officers and Board
 PHS Conferences
Peace and Change
Peace and Change blog
PHS Newsletter
Elise M. Boulding Prize

DeBenedetti Prize

Scott Bills Memorial Prize

Lifetime Award

  Other Resources on the Web
Announcements of Conferences, etc. of Interest to Peace Historians

PHS Photograph Archive

PHS History

PHS Bylaws


Berenice Carroll receives the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award (left to right Christy Snider, Virginia Williams, Clinton Fink, Berenice Carroll, and Robbie Lieberman)

PHS Lifetime Award

Description: The PHS periodically bestows the Lifetime Achievement Award. The prize is awarded to a PHS member who has contributed outstanding scholarship and exemplary service to the Peace History Society and to peace history. The prize is awarded in those years in which a PHS conference is held.

Eligibility: Any PHS member is eligible for the award.

Criteria: Longevity and consistency of commitment will serve as key considerations in evaluating candidates for the award. In addition to exemplary scholarship, the committee responsible for choosing a recipient will assess nominees’ overall promotion of PHS goals through educational initiatives, significant participation in the PHS and its functions, and active service in the cause of peace. Committee members should keep in mind the decisive contribution made by women throughout the history of the PHS and the society’s traditional commitment to gender equity as they make their decisions from year to year.

The 2021 recipients were Chuck Howlett and Peter van den Dungen.

The 2019 recipient was Wendy Chmielewski, George Cooley Curator, Swarthmore College Peace Collection.

The 2017 recipient was Harriet Hyman Alonso.

The 2015 recipient was Geoffrey Smith, Queens University.

The 2013 recipient was Berenice Carroll, Professor of Political Science Emerita, Purdue University.

The 2011 recipient was Lawrence Wittner, Professor of History Emeritus, University at Albany, State University of New York.

The 2009 recipient was Sandi Cooper, Professor of History at the College of Staten Island and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York.

Charles Chatfield was the first recipient of the award in 2007.
Questions or comments to the web editor.